#Catholic Daily Readings from the #Holy #Bible and #Reflection: #Jesus #Christ is the #Vine; He Nourishes the Branch to Bear #Fruit!

Reading 1 Acts 15:1-6
Responsorial Psalm 122:1-2, 3-4ab, 4cd-5
Gospel John 15:1-8
(http://www.usccb.org/nab/readings/050510.shtml)

Excerpts:

John 15:1-2, 5

1
“I am the true vine, and my Father is the vine grower.
2
He takes away every branch in me that does not bear fruit, and everyone that does he prunes so that it bears more fruit.

5
I am the vine, you are the branches. Whoever remains in me and I in him will bear much fruit, because without me you can do nothing.

Reflection: This a beautiful illustration of the relationship among God, the Father, Jesus Christ, and us. Many past readings have explained that Jesus only does what the Father commands. The reading today uses an analogy to describe that concept. It shows me that Jesus is our direct lifeline; He is the vine that nourishes us. Without Him, we wither and perish. I will try to remember this reading at any moment I may become prideful; I can do nothing without Jesus Christ. All glory and praise to our Lord, Jesus Christ!

Jesus, however, does not control who belongs with Him or what branch stays on the vine; it is the Father who prunes the vine, as Jesus is commanded by the Father. I recall previous readings, in which Jesus says that He did not come to judge but to save. That shows me He did not come to judge who would remain on the vine (in Him). He came to nourish those believers who were given to Him by the Father. If you believe or seek to believe or understand the Truth and the Way, stay with Jesus Christ. Work at knowing Him. Spend time with Him. Turn your mind to Him in everything. Without Him, be as the branch broken from the vine. With Him, may you bear wonderful fruit according to His Will!

–Peace Be With You

Leave a comment