#Catholic Daily Readings from the #Holy #Bible and #Reflection: #Christian Life In a Nutshell

Reading 1 Acts 16:1-10
Responsorial Psalm 100:1b-2, 3, 5
Gospel John 15:18-21
(http://www.usccb.org/nab/readings/050810.shtml)

Excerpts:

Acts 16:4-7

4
As they traveled from city to city, they handed on to the people for observance the decisions reached by the apostles and presbyters in Jerusalem.
5
Day after day the churches grew stronger in faith and increased in number.
6
They traveled through the Phrygian and Galatian territory because they had been prevented by the holy Spirit from preaching the message in the province of Asia.
7
When they came to Mysia, they tried to go on into Bithynia, but the Spirit of Jesus did not allow them,

John 15:18-21

18
“If the world hates you, realize that it hated me first.
19
If you belonged to the world, the world would love its own; but because you do not belong to the world, and I have chosen you out of the world, the world hates you.
20
Remember the word I spoke to you, ‘No slave is greater than his master.’ If they persecuted me, they will also persecute you. If they kept my word, they will also keep yours.
21
And they will do all these things to you on account of my name, because they do not know the one who sent me.

Reflection: What have I done as a Christian lately? As I’ve said in past reflections, what have I done to impress Jesus Christ? I strive to have an answer to this question on a daily basis. I could say, I write this blog. I attend Mass. I do my best to love others. I pray. All these things I am able to say and do by the power of the Holy Spirit. If Jesus Christ does not allow it, however, I could do nothing. He is the nourishment that gives me strength and true life. Only by His power am I live.

Being a Christian though, doesn’t always equal peace and joy and good tidings. There have always been obstacles and challenges in the world for Christians. Jesus Christ endured them and so He says His believers, the people He chooses, will endure them too. Remember, we are chosen by God to be His followers. He chooses us to follow Him and bear fruit. We have the choice to cling to Him and bear fruit according to His Will or be pruned from the vine by God, the Father. To know God and His Will is to Love God. To Love God (or anyone for that matter) we must spend time with Him. We should always strive to spend time in prayer, in reading, in discussion, etc.

–Peace Be With You